Victoria government logo
Victorian Budget 22/23

Major upgrades for classrooms and special schools

We committed to opening 100 new schools across our state by 2026, and we’re well on our way to delivering on this promise.

Teacher and students inside a classroom at McKinnon

This Budget will build another 13 schools across our state, bringing the total number of new schools to 75 since 2019.

Students with special needs should also have the same opportunities as every other student in Victoria.

So we are helping make our schools even more inclusive for students with disability and special needs by upgrading another 36 special schools – meaning since 2015 we have upgraded every special school in the state.

We’re continuing to build and improve schools around the state, to ensure all our kids have the learning environment they need to succeed.

Because we’re committed to ensuring high-quality schools for every child, wherever they live and whatever their needs.

And this investment won’t just deliver great schools – it’s also helping create jobs in construction and related industries across the state.

Key investments include:

  • $581 million to build 13 brand new schools, and funding to complete additional stages at four schools.
  • $560 million to upgrade 65 schools across Victoria including $326 million for 36 special schools, improving educational outcomes through world-class classrooms and learning facilities.
  • $247 million for essential maintenance and compliance and the Accessible Buildings Program.
  • $92 million for new relocatable buildings to relieve pressure at schools that are reaching their capacity and to provide additional functional spaces for learning.
  • $56 million to expand capacity to meet enrolment growth at two established area schools ahead of the 2025 school year.
  • $42 million to fund minor capital works and priority projects at Victorian schools.

Media release

Major upgrades delivered for special schoolsExternal Link

  • The following new schools (interim names listed below) will be constructed:

    • Aintree Secondary school
    • Aintree Specialist School
    • Alexander Boulevard Primary School
    • Black Forest East Primary School
    • Brookfield Primary School
    • Lockerbie Central Primary School
    • Lollypop Creek Secondary School
    • Lollypop Creek Specialist School
    • Merrifield South Primary School
    • Officer Brunt Road Primary School
    • Riverdale Secondary School
    • Tarneit North Primary School
    • Truganina North Primary School

    The following schools will build additional stages:

    • Aintree Primary School
    • Aitken Hill Primary School
    • Gaayip-Yagila Primary School
    • Truganina North Secondary School (Interim Name)

    • Banyan Fields Primary School
    • Bentleigh Secondary College
    • Bittern Primary School
    • Bundoora Secondary College
    • Coldstream Primary School
    • Diggers Rest Primary School
    • Doreen Primary School
    • Hawthorn West Primary School
    • Kingston Heath Primary School
    • Laburnum Primary School
    • Merri Creek Primary School
    • Moonee Ponds West Primary School
    • Mordialloc Beach Primary School
    • Mount Pleasant Road Nunawading Primary School
    • Pascoe Vale Primary School
    • Reservoir High School
    • Sandringham East Primary School
    • St Albans Heights Primary School
    • The Patch Primary School
    • Wantirna College
    • Westgarth Primary School
    • Yarra Primary School
    • Cardinia
    • Casey
    • Hume
    • Melton
    • Whittlesea
    • Wyndham
    • Ashwood School
    • Aurora School
    • Berendale School and Katandra School (merger)
    • Broadmeadows Special Developmental School
    • Burwood East Special Developmental School
    • Croydon Special Developmental School
    • Dandenong Valley Special Developmental School
    • Eastern Ranges School
    • Glenroy Specialist School
    • Hume Valley School
    • Jennings Street School
    • Merriang Special Developmental School
    • Montague Continuing Education Centre
    • Mornington Special Developmental School
    • Naranga School
    • Northern School for Autism
    • Officer Specialist School
    • Peninsula Specialist College
    • Springvale Park Special Developmental School
    • Waratah Special Developmental School
    • Warringa Park School – Warringa Crescent & Bethany Road Campuses
    • Western Autistic School
    • Kambrya College
    • Staughton College
    • Benalla P-12 College
    • Darley Primary School
    • East Loddon P-12 College
    • Grasmere Primary School
    • Mount Rowan Secondary College
    • Wedderburn College
    • Yinnar Primary School
    • Greater Geelong
    • Bass Coast Specialist School
    • Belvoir Wodonga Special Developmental School
    • Bendigo Special Developmental School
    • Cobram and District Specialist School
    • East Gippsland Specialist School
    • Hamlyn Views School
    • Hampden Specialist School
    • Mildura Specialist School
    • Nelson Park School
    • Skene Street School Stawell
    • South Gippsland Specialist School
    • Swan Hill Specialist School
    • Verney Road School
    • Warragul & District Specialist School

Reviewed 03 May 2022


Was this page helpful?