Victoria government logo
Victorian State Budget 2023/24

Great local schools for every Victorian family

Every young Victorian should be able to count on a great local school wherever they live, and whatever their needs are.

Three students sitting in a reading area

That’s why this Budget invests $618 million to build nine new local schools, an additional stage at two recently opened schools, and planning and early works for three more new schools.

The nine new schools funded in this Budget put us on track to open 100 new schools across the state by 2026. This includes 13 schools that opened their doors for students in 2023, and 14 that are currently in construction.

The Victorian Government has funded a $24 million School Upgrades Delivery Fund, which enables planning and development for upgrades at 54 schools.

We are investing $266 million across 43 schools to deliver high‑quality classrooms and facilities.

The Budget also makes other investments as we build the Education State:

  • $321 million for essential maintenance at schools and outdoor facilities.
  • $182 million for relocatable buildings to create new learning spaces at schools that are reaching their capacity.
  • $91 million to expand capacity to meet enrolment growth anticipated for the 2027 school year at four established area schools.
  • $26 million for a New Schools Planning Fund, including planning for a future secondary college for the Armstrong Creek West and Mount Duneed community.
  • $10 million to fund minor capital projects at schools across the state.
  • $10 million for the Inclusive Schools Fund, to meet the educational and social needs of all children and young people, including those with disabilities and additional needs.
  • $10 million for facility modifications to improve accessibility, which may include installation of ramps and handrails, and alterations for vision and hearing‑impaired students.

Land will be acquired for future new schools.

This Budget brings our total investment in building new, maintaining and upgrading schools to more than $14.9 billion since coming to government.

We are investing $450 million towards building and upgrading low‑fee Independent and Catholic schools to make sure that no matter where Victorians choose to educate their kids, they’ll have access to a great local school.

Metro and regional schools

New school construction, additional stages, planning and early works and school upgrades.

Metro schools

    • Clyde North Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Clyde North Secondary College (Interim Name)
    • Fishermans Bend Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Lockerbie Secondary College (Interim Name)
    • Pakenham North West Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Point Cook South P-9 College (Interim Name)
    • Riverdale North Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Thompsons West Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Wollert Central Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Clyde Secondary College
    • Greenvale Secondary College
    • Casey Central Primary School (Interim Name)
    • Lockerbie Specialist School (Interim Name)
    • Point Cook South Specialist School (Interim Name)
    • Coburg High School
    • Richmond Primary School
    • Saltwater P-9 College
    • Aldercourt Primary School
    • Altona Primary School
    • Bayswater South Primary School
    • Bethal Primary School
    • Cheltenham Secondary College
    • Cranbourne East Secondary College
    • Cranbourne Park Primary School
    • Eltham High School
    • Emerald Secondary College
    • Fleetwood Primary School
    • Footscray West Primary School
    • Forest Hill College
    • Hallam Secondary College
    • Heathmont East Primary School
    • John Fawkner College
    • Kent Park Primary School
    • Keysborough Gardens Primary School
    • Koonung Secondary College
    • Mahogany Rise Primary School
    • Melton Secondary College
    • Mount Waverley Primary School
    • Ormond Primary School
    • Overport Primary School
    • Pakenham Secondary College
    • Parkhill Primary School
    • Preston Primary School
    • Rye Primary School
    • Somers Primary School
    • Somerville Primary School
    • Sydenham-Hillside Primary School
    • University Park Primary School
  • New campus

    • Holy Trinity Primary School (Sunbury)
    • Kolbe College, new campus (Mickleham)
    • New Catholic Primary school (Wollert)


    • Mary, Queen of Heaven Primary School (Greenvale)
    • Sacred Heart Primary School (Sandringham)
    • Sacred Heart Primary School (St Albans)
    • St John the Baptist Primary School (Ferntree Gully)
    • St Joseph’s School (Boronia)
    • St Jude the Apostle School (Scoresby)
    • St Lawrence of Brindisi Primary School (Weir Views)
    • St Margaret’s Primary School (Maribyrnong)
    • St Michael’s Primary School (North Melbourne)
    • St Monica’s Primary School (Moonee Ponds)
    • St Peter’s Primary School (Keilor East)

Regional schools

    • Huntly Primary School
    • Ararat Secondary College
    • Geelong East Primary School
    • Gisborne Secondary College
    • Moe Primary School
    • Mount Duneed Regional Primary School
    • Murrayville Community College
    • Tallangatta Primary School
    • Wallington Primary School
    • Wandong Primary School
    • Western Heights College
    • Wonthaggi Primary School
    • Woodmans Hill Secondary College
  • Upgrades

    • Our Lady Help of Christians Primary School (Warrnambool)
    • Sacred Heart Primary School (Mildura)
    • St Bernard's Primary School (Bacchus Marsh)
    • St Brigid's College (Horsham)
    • St Francis Xavier Primary School (Corio)

Reviewed 22 May 2023


Was this page helpful?